Category: News

Current, event-driven reporting, announcements and industry developments.

  • Texas Governor Orders Pause on New Data Center Approvals Amid Grid Interconnection Strain

    Texas Governor Orders Pause on New Data Center Approvals Amid Grid Interconnection Strain

    Texas Governor Greg Abbott has ordered a pause on approvals for new large data center projects seeking to connect to the state’s power grid, a move that Houston Public Media reported on August 27, 2026 could delay roughly 300 large data center projects, though not every planned facility in the state is covered by the pause.

    The order responds to mounting pressure on the Electric Reliability Council of Texas (ERCOT) interconnection queue, as AI-driven data center demand has produced a wave of large-load requests competing for grid capacity and connection timelines. According to the report, Beth Garza, who previously served as ERCOT’s independent market monitor, said the interconnection process could take significantly longer than originally projected, whether because of the governor’s pause or because the initial timeline itself was unrealistic; Garza said she “will be pleasantly surprised” if by April 2027 the industry has a clear picture of which data center loads will ultimately be able to move forward.

    Texas has emerged as one of the largest hubs for hyperscale and AI-focused data center construction in the country, drawing investment from major cloud and AI infrastructure providers seeking access to relatively fast permitting and available land, but also straining grid planning as operators request power commitments that can rival the demand of entire cities. The pause reflects a broader tension states are navigating between courting large-scale data center investment and protecting grid reliability and consumer electricity costs for existing residential and industrial customers.

    For the physical security and critical infrastructure sector, large-scale data center buildouts have significant downstream implications beyond power supply: campus perimeter security, access control, and fire and life-safety systems are typically scoped and budgeted alongside the underlying facility and power infrastructure, meaning delays or restructuring of a project’s grid interconnection timeline can directly affect the pace of associated physical security procurement and installation work tied to new builds.

  • CISA Publishes New Round of ICS Advisories Covering Industrial Test, Fleet and IoT Devices

    CISA Publishes New Round of ICS Advisories Covering Industrial Test, Fleet and IoT Devices

    The Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency published a new batch of industrial control system advisories on August 27, 2026, covering vulnerabilities in products used across manufacturing, transportation and utility test environments. Among the advisories was one for Rockwell Automation’s OTTO Fleet Manager, tagged to the Critical Manufacturing and Transportation Systems sectors, which CISA said contains a flaw (CVE-2026-75112) that could reduce the computational cost required for an attacker to carry out offline brute-force attacks against stored password hashes in versions up to V2.36.2.

    A separate advisory covered the Applied Systems Engineering ASE2000 V2 Communications Test Set, a tool used to test IEC 60870-5-104 protocol communications common in electric utility SCADA environments. According to the advisory and a technical writeup published by Trout Software, the affected versions (2.25 through 2.37) carry two flaws: a legacy XML external entity issue tied to an outdated bundled Apache log4net library, and an improper certificate validation weakness in the product’s IEC 60870-5-104 TLS client that could allow an attacker to intercept and impersonate a trusted peer during protocol testing. CISA credited researcher Enoch Wang with the report and noted the vendor has released version 2.38 as a fix.

    CISA also published advisories for the Xiiaozet LK100W device, warning that successful exploitation of the flaws it identified could allow an attacker to take control of the device, and for the All-Line Equipment Company Fuel-Boss and Ebyte NA111-M products. As with its standard ICS advisory practice, CISA’s guidance recommends that asset owners minimize network exposure of control system devices, ensure they are not directly reachable from the internet, and place control system networks behind firewalls, isolated from business IT networks.

    The advisories arrive amid a broader pattern industry researchers have flagged this year: security vendor Forescout reported that ICS advisory volume topped 500 for the first time in 2025, with a growing share of vulnerabilities affecting field controllers, remote terminal units and other Purdue Model Level 1 devices that directly interface with physical processes. CISA continues to publish advisories on a rolling weekly basis covering vendors ranging from major industrial automation suppliers to smaller niche device manufacturers used in specific utility and manufacturing test workflows.

  • CISA Adds ownCloud, Linux Kernel and JFrog Artifactory Flaws to Known Exploited Vulnerabilities Catalog

    CISA Adds ownCloud, Linux Kernel and JFrog Artifactory Flaws to Known Exploited Vulnerabilities Catalog

    The Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency added three vulnerabilities to its Known Exploited Vulnerabilities (KEV) catalog on August 27, 2026, citing evidence of active exploitation. The additions are CVE-2023-49105, an improper authentication vulnerability in ownCloud; CVE-2026-53362, an unspecified vulnerability in the Linux Kernel; and CVE-2026-66384, an improper limitation of a pathname to a restricted directory vulnerability affecting JFrog Artifactory, according to CISA’s alert.

    CISA’s advisory notes that vulnerabilities of this type are “a frequent attack vector for malicious cyber actors” and pose significant risk to federal networks. Under Binding Operational Directive 26-04, Federal Civilian Executive Branch agencies are required to remediate KEV catalog entries within CISA-specified timeframes, though the directive does not legally bind private-sector organizations.

    The JFrog Artifactory path traversal flaw is notable given the platform’s widespread use as a binary and package repository in enterprise software development pipelines; a pathname restriction bypass in that context can potentially allow an attacker to read or write files outside intended directories, a class of vulnerability that has previously been leveraged for both data exfiltration and remote code execution in build and artifact-management systems. The ownCloud authentication flaw, tracked since 2023, affects a self-hosted file-sharing platform used by organizations that manage sensitive document storage internally rather than through commercial cloud providers.

    CISA said it “will continue to add vulnerabilities to the catalog that meet the specified criteria” and encouraged all organizations, not just federal agencies, “to adopt risk-based vulnerability management and prioritize remediation of KEV Catalog vulnerabilities.” The agency’s KEV catalog has become a widely used reference point across the security industry for prioritizing patch management amid a growing volume of disclosed vulnerabilities.

  • ATF Confirms Data Breach After Ransomware Group Claims Access to Investigation Data

    ATF Confirms Data Breach After Ransomware Group Claims Access to Investigation Data

    The Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (ATF) has confirmed a cyberattack affected a system containing information about the targets of its investigations, following claims by a ransomware group that it had gained access to the agency’s data, Reuters reported.

    What’s New

    According to court documents and public reporting, the ransomware group gained access to a computer system holding information related to ATF investigative targets. The agency confirmed the breach but has not disclosed the full scope of the data involved or attributed the intrusion to a specific threat actor.

    Why It Matters

    A breach touching active investigation data raises risks beyond typical data-exposure incidents, potentially compromising ongoing law enforcement operations and the safety of investigative targets and personnel if the information is misused or leaked. The incident adds to a string of confirmed breaches at U.S. federal agencies this year and comes weeks after the Justice Department and FBI moved to disrupt state-sponsored hacking infrastructure targeting other parts of the federal government.

  • Australian Police Charge Two Men Over TeamPCP Hacking Group Linked to Open-Source Supply Chain Breaches

    Australian Police Charge Two Men Over TeamPCP Hacking Group Linked to Open-Source Supply Chain Breaches

    The Australian Federal Police, working with the FBI and the Western Australia Police Force, arrested and charged two Perth-area men on August 26, 2026 over their alleged roles in TeamPCP, a cybercrime group blamed for a string of high-profile breaches this year. Louis Michael Gaebler, 23, of Mandurah, and Ruben Ian Thomson, 21, of Cottesloe, appeared in Perth Magistrates Court on August 27 facing a combined 14 charges, according to the AFP and reporting from TechCrunch, The Hacker News and Help Net Security.

    Investigators allege the pair were principal participants in a syndicate that planted malicious code in popular open-source software projects, which was then unwittingly incorporated by developers and organizations worldwide, according to the AFP statement cited by ABC News Australia. The Hacker News reported that TeamPCP has been tied to the March 2026 compromise of the open-source security scanners Trivy and Checkmarx KICS, as well as the AI gateway LiteLLM, while TechCrunch reported the group has also been blamed for hacks affecting Mercor and OpenAI.

    According to Help Net Security’s account of the charges, the Cottesloe man faces eight offenses including possessing and supplying data for use in computer offenses, unauthorized modification of data, failing to comply with a data-access order, and dealing with proceeds of crime worth more than AU$100,000; the maximum penalties involved range from three to twenty years’ imprisonment. Investigators searched properties in Cottesloe, Hamilton Hill and Mandurah, seizing electronic devices now undergoing forensic examination.

    The AFP said the investigation began in April 2026 after it and the FBI received tips about a syndicate inserting malicious code into open-source packages used by other developers, and that “further arrests and charges have not been ruled out” as the forensic review of seized data continues, per SecurityWeek’s reporting.

    The case highlights the continuing risk that open-source software supply chains pose as a vector for widescale compromise: a single tampered dependency or scanning tool can propagate into the environments of every organization that pulls it into a build pipeline, a dynamic security teams have increasingly had to account for in software composition analysis and dependency-vetting programs.

  • Denmark Selects Terma to Build Nationwide Counter-Drone Defense System

    Denmark Selects Terma to Build Nationwide Counter-Drone Defense System

    A Shared National Drone Picture

    Denmark’s Ministry of Defence Acquisition and Logistics Organisation (DALO) announced on August 19, 2026 that it has selected Danish defense contractor Terma to deliver an integrated, nationwide command-and-control system for counter-drone defense. The system will connect existing and future sensors operated by the Danish Armed Forces, civilian authorities and critical infrastructure operators into a single shared drone situational picture, according to Terma.

    “To defend ourselves, we need to be able to eliminate enemy drones in our airspace,” Danish Defense Minister Jeppe Bruus said of the contract. Terma said the platform will support the management of drone incidents at military installations, airports, ports, energy facilities, government buildings and other critical infrastructure sites, and that its architecture is designed to allow additional sensors, sites and countermeasures to be integrated over time.

    Built on Terma’s Helion Data Backbone

    The system is based on Terma Helion, the company’s multi-domain data backbone, and will integrate command-and-control and data-fusion software from OSL Technology, which Terma acquired in 2025. The combined platform uses artificial intelligence to process, classify and prioritize sensor data, fusing input from radar, other surveillance systems and third-party sensors to support tactical decision-making at both local and central command levels.

    “This new agreement with Terma is an important cornerstone in the ongoing effort to build a strong counter-drone capability, both within the Danish Armed Forces and Danish industry,” said Lieutenant General Per Pugholm Olsen, chief of DALO. The contract comes as European states have grown increasingly concerned about unauthorized drone activity near military sites, airports and other critical infrastructure. Terma and DALO did not disclose the contract value.

    Sources

  • DHS Awards Department-Wide Contracts for Counter-Drone Capabilities

    DHS Awards Department-Wide Contracts for Counter-Drone Capabilities

    A Common Acquisition Pathway Across DHS

    The Department of Homeland Security announced on August 5, 2026 that it has made multiple contract awards to support department-wide access to Counter-Unmanned Aircraft Systems (C-UAS) capabilities. The awards give DHS components a common pathway to acquire C-UAS hardware, software and services tailored to fixed-site, mobile, aviation, maritime, aircraft-based and special-mission environments, according to the department’s Science and Technology Directorate.

    “These awards mark an important step in strengthening DHS’s ability to respond to unauthorized and malicious unmanned aircraft systems,” said Homeland Security Secretary Markwayne Mullin. “By taking a Department-wide approach, we are improving mission readiness, supporting more consistent capabilities, and helping ensure DHS personnel have access to the right tools for the job.”

    Replacing Fragmented Procurement

    DHS components have historically procured C-UAS capabilities through separate acquisition efforts. The new contract structure is intended to support greater consistency, interoperability, operational flexibility, technology refresh and lifecycle management across the department, while still letting individual components select solutions aligned to their specific missions. The awarded contracts cover detection, tracking, classification, identification, mitigation, command-and-control integration, training, maintenance, technical support, system integration, research and development, test and evaluation, and vendor-operated turnkey services.

    “As unmanned aircraft systems become more capable and more widely available, DHS needs solutions that can adapt,” said Under Secretary for Science and Technology Pedro Allende. Components expected to use the contract include the U.S. Secret Service, U.S. Coast Guard, Customs and Border Protection, Immigration and Customs Enforcement, the Transportation Security Administration, FEMA, the Federal Protective Service, U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services, and the Science and Technology Directorate itself. DHS did not disclose specific contract values or awardee names in its announcement.

    Sources

  • Johnson Controls Metasys Building Automation Platform Patches Persistent XSS Vulnerability

    Johnson Controls Metasys Building Automation Platform Patches Persistent XSS Vulnerability

    Crafted URL Can Hijack Administrator Sessions

    CISA published ICS advisory ICSA-26-225-14 on August 13, 2026, disclosing a cross-site scripting vulnerability in Johnson Controls Metasys, a building automation and management platform used across critical manufacturing, commercial facilities, government facilities, transportation systems and energy sites worldwide. Tracked as CVE-2026-34491 and rated CWE-79, the flaw carries a CVSS v3 base score of 8.0.

    According to CISA, a low-privilege user can inject a malicious payload into the Metasys web interface through a crafted URL. The payload persists across logins and executes in the browser context of other users who view the affected page, including administrators, which could lead to session hijacking and unauthorized access to building systems. The advisory lists Metasys 12 and 13 as affected in all versions, and Metasys 14 before v14.1.5 and Metasys 15 before v15.0.1.

    Mitigation

    Johnson Controls has released patched versions for the affected Metasys 14 and 15 branches and published mitigation guidance for the platform. CISA recommends operators apply the available updates, restrict Metasys web interface access to trusted networks, and follow standard input-validation and session-management hardening for building management system deployments.

    Sources

  • Siemens Patches Critical Remote Code Execution Flaw in Siveillance Video Management Servers

    Siemens Patches Critical Remote Code Execution Flaw in Siveillance Video Management Servers

    Command Injection Rated Critical

    CISA published ICS advisory ICSA-26-225-09 on August 13, 2026, describing a critical vulnerability in Siemens Siveillance Video, a video management platform deployed worldwide across the critical manufacturing, communications and commercial facilities sectors. Tracked as CVE-2026-3014 and rated CWE-78 (OS Command Injection), the flaw affects Siveillance Video V2023 R3 versions before 23.3.27, V2024 R1 versions before 24.1.16, and V2025 versions before 25.1.15, with a CVSS v3 base score of 9.1.

    According to the advisory, a user with edit permissions on the Management Server can exploit the flaw to execute arbitrary code in the context of the Management Server service, which could allow an attacker to take control of connected video management infrastructure.

    Updates Available for All Affected Branches

    Siemens has released fixed versions for each affected release branch: V23.3 HotfixRev27 or later, V24.1 HotfixRev16 or later, and the V25.1.15 update for the 2025 branch. CISA and Siemens recommend that operators update to the corrected versions as soon as practical and, in line with general ICS hardening guidance, restrict Management Server edit permissions to trusted administrators and segment video management infrastructure from untrusted networks.

    Sources

  • CISA Details Credential Exposure Flaw in Johnson Controls Simplex Incident Manager

    CISA Details Credential Exposure Flaw in Johnson Controls Simplex Incident Manager

    Cleartext Credentials Found in Memory

    The Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency published ICS advisory ICSA-26-232-01 on August 20, 2026, disclosing a vulnerability in Johnson Controls Simplex Incident Manager, a fire and life-safety incident-management application used across critical manufacturing, commercial facilities, government facilities, transportation systems and energy sites worldwide. Tracked as CVE-2026-27875, the flaw stores user credentials, including passwords and authentication tokens, in an unencrypted form in system memory while the application is running.

    CISA assigned the vulnerability a CVSS v3.1 base score of 5.8 (medium), rating it CWE-316, Cleartext Storage of Sensitive Information in Memory. A local attacker with low privileges, or an insider with memory-dumping tools, could extract the exposed credentials and use them for unauthorized access to the application and connected systems. Exploitation requires local access to the host, and CISA rates the attack complexity as high.

    Patch Available

    Johnson Controls has released version v2.01.01 to address the flaw and published Product Security Advisory JCI-PSA-2026-28 with mitigation guidance. CISA and the vendor recommend upgrading affected Simplex Incident Manager deployments (v2.01 and earlier), restricting local system access to authorized personnel, deploying endpoint monitoring to detect memory-dumping activity, enforcing least-privilege access controls, and using full-disk encryption and secure boot to reduce the risk of offline memory analysis.

    Johnson Controls reported the vulnerability to CISA. No public evidence of active exploitation has been disclosed.

    Sources